Hewlett takes EMAC swimmer of the year honors

-A A +A

THORNTON -- Brighton's boys swimming team took third place in the Eastern Metro Athletic Conference meet at Veterans Memorial Aquatic Center in Thornton.


Swimmer Aaron Hewlett took home conference swimmer of the year honors. He won the 100-meter freestyle championship in a time of 51.72 seconds. He also finished second in the 50- freestyle in a time of 22.04. Teammate Julian Prieto won the title in a time of 21.85 seconds.


Hewlett also helped the Bulldogs to an EMAc title in the 200- freestyle relay. He, chandler Johnson, Samuel Kelly and Joseph Prieto finished the relay in a time of 1:35.95. Hewlett was the first swimmer in Brighton's 200- medley relay conference-winning effort. Johnson, Chase Zeilstra, Julian Prieto and Hewlett finished in a time of 1:45.33.

Kelly was Brighton's other conference winner. He swam a 2:01.49 in the 200- freestyle to take first place. he also finished fourth in the 500- freestyle, where his time was 5:57.06.

Jadon Kniss was second in diving with 251.7 points. Zeilstra took second in the 100- butterfly, fashioning a time of 56.37. Julian Prieto was third in the 100- backstroke in a time of 59.18.  Joseph Prieto was fifth in the 100- freestyle, where his time was 53.06.  Johnson finished fifth in the 200- individual medley (2:17.67) and sixth in the 100- breast stroke, where his time was 1:08.41.

The state swim meet is next weekend, also at the veterans center pool.